BOOK REVIEWS for Shattered Lies:

     No one wants to buy or read a book without knowing what others think of it.  I've taken care of that for you here.     

     Here are some reviews, both customers and media reviews from people that have actually read Shattered Lies and left reviews for it. See the links to the actual reviews themselves, if necessary:

    Have you already read Shattered Lies and left a review for it? If so, thank you so much. I greatly appreciate it. If not, may I ask that you leave a review? As a debut author I entirely depend on readers to share the book. Please consider reviewing the book on Goodreads and on other online book retailers such as Amazon, bn.com, et al! Thank you in advance for your support!

    May all your dreams come true for you! Cheers! S.J. Francis

    And now for the reviews: The excellent, the good, and even a negative one....ooh...aah...please read on...Yes, I will always defend your right to speak freely, even if I don't necessarily agree....

 

      Shattered Lies is a gripping story of family secrets and their destructive aftermath. The reader is drawn into Kate’s courageous choice to face the challenges of racial tension and betrayal." ~ Carole Avila, Author of Eve’s Amulet-Book 1 and Death House

 

    "An engrossing tale of deceit, bigotry, and betrayal, Shattered Lies grabs you by the throat and won’t let go." ~ Pepper O’Neal, author of the award-winning Black Ops Chronicles series.

 

   "Francis writes a poignant and moving tale of bigotry, deceit, and the ultimate betrayal, where the people who you are supposed to be able to trust are the ones who tell the most devastating lies." ~ Taylor Jones, Reviewer

 

   "Shattered Lies is the story of the cruel, inhuman things man does to man and the tangled webs we weave trying to cover up our heinous behavior. It’s a heart-warming and heart-breaking tale of a young woman who discovers that everything she believed about herself, her parents, her very life, is nothing but a lie." ~ Regan Murphy, Reviewer

 

    

     Amazon Customer Reviews for Shattered Lies: http://www.amazon.com/Shattered-Lies-S-J-Francis/dp/1626943567/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1446066096&sr=8-1&keywords=shattered+lies

 

     5 stars

     Excellent Book - The Pages Practically Turn Themselves!

     By Tonya on October 21, 2015

     Format: Paperback

     I read this book in two days which is pretty much a record for me. It started with a fast pace and ended even faster. The relationships in this story are remarkable and really made me think about prejudice in the South. It's hard for someone like me - too young for the era Katherine and Maddy grew up in and a Northerner - to even fathom the viewpoints of judging someone based on their skin color. I found this part of the story insightful and at the same time sad to know that people really felt this way. And perhaps some still do. I hope that anyone who reads this book will take a step back and think about the messages hidden on these pages. The only thing I didn't particularly care for is something that a lot of people may really like. It started a little too fast for me. I like to get to know the characters and their back story before things take off. So it's not a bad thing, it's just one of those things I happen to prefer. And all of the back stories are revealed throughout the book, just not in the beginning. Otherwise, be prepared for a lot of drama, twists, colorful (no pun intended) characters including very strong women, and a plot that teaches you about life and love. This is a fantastic read. Take a chance on it - you won't be sorry!

 

     5 stars

    A Challenging Topic in a Debut Novel

    By Carole Avila, Author on October 25, 2015

    Format: Kindle Edition

    S. J. Francis painted her characters in shades you love to hate and others you’ll really love. Family dynamics walk a tenuous thread atop misplaced loyalty, unveiling a complex tangle of lies and betrayal in the Deep South with surprising subplots. Shattered Lies invites personal reflections on racism and other themes, showing that despite the effects of traumatic discoveries and the resulting drama, love and compassion can endure.

 

    

   5 Stars

   A Must Read

   By J. Carbone on November 19, 2015

   Format: Paperback

   S.J. Francis has created a racially charged story that has blown me away. With one secret piling on top of another, I was left guessing from beginning to end. It was refreshing to see Kate's strength and determination even while her world, or what she thought was her world, crumbled right before her eyes. A wonderful debut novel leaving me excited to see what this extremely talented author will come up with next.

 

   

  S. J. Francis has written an enthralling book ...

  5 Stars S. J. Francis has written an enthralling book ...

  By Linda Kane on November 23, 2015

  Format: Kindle Edition

  S.J. Francis has written an enthralling book. From the first page I couldn't put it down. When I read the synopsis I thought I was going to be reading a mystery. It wasn't it was a captivating story that grabs you, brings you right Into the story, and doesn't let go until the very end. The character are multi dimensional, have substance.

4 Stars 4.out of 5 stars Thought-provoking tale of the south BySFCon November 24, 2015

Note: The ARC was given by the Author in exchange for a fair review
 

 

 

  4 Stars 4.out of 5 stars Thought-provoking tale of the south (same review left on Goodreads)

  By SFC on November 24, 2015

  Note: The ARC was given by the Author in exchange for a fair review

  This story about a woman on a quest to find the sister she never knew who was ripped from the family at birth was moving and thought-provoking. The prejudices of the south in the era are jarring to this lifelong resident of the southern USA but I have no doubt these things took place. Many parts of the story were disturbing but the tale itself is full of life lessons. I'm not sure I would have been as forgiving as the main character is after the horrific things her family went through at the direction of another family member. This is one that will make you think and if you like tales of that kind, this is one not to miss.

 

 

  5 Stars Shattered Lies is a page turner that does not dissapoint

  By Martha Graham-Waldon on November 25, 2015

  Format: Kindle Edition

  Shattered Lies is a page turner that does not disappoint. The vividly developed characters and scenes set to a plot filled with shocking twists and turns kept me mesmerized from beginning to end. It is the story of two southern families, one white and one black that weave a tangled web of deceit, infidelity and lies. The author cleverly reveals the ugly face of racism on both sides of the color barrier and it is the younger generation that must bear the brunt of the older generation’s betrayal. This is a touching tale of deception, love and ultimately forgiveness in the face of the unforgiveable that is not to be missed.

 

   

  4 stars Family ties     By Bookfan on November 26, 2015 (same review left on Reading Alley)

  Format: Kindle Edition

  How would you feel if you found out that everything about who you are and where you came from turned out to be lies and to make matters worse, what if those lies were created by the people closest to you, the people you love and trust the most? This is what happens to Kate, a successful veterinarian who runs the family horse-stud in the southern state of Mississippi. When Kate finds out about the secrets it feels like a betrayal and changes her life in ways she could never have imagined.
The lies were all started when two strong women from different sides of society became friends at a time when racial segregation was still common in the southern states. Their friendship was destroyed by pressure from their families and the social prejudices of society at the time. The scars and decisions they made because of it affect their whole lives, the lives of their children and grandchildren. When tragedy strikes, the two families have to put all their differences aside to be there for the one person they all love; Kate.
A beautifully written, emotional story about family dynamics and how each family member deals with the consequences of the truth as it is revealed. It is also a story about the power of love, forgiveness, compassion and healing. The characters are realistic very human and show emotions like love, hate and regret in complex ways. An interesting read and very thought provoking at times. I highly recommend this book.
  Review copy provided via Reading Alley in exchange for an honest review.

 

  

     5 Stars   A Novel Set In Today's South  ByLinda Thorne on December 3, 2015

     Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

     I enjoyed reading Shattered Lies. The publisher puts the genre as women’s fiction, which is not something I have read a lot of, so I found myself comparing it to other books. Shattered Lies reminded me some of coming-of-age stories except that the character is a grown woman, 30 years old. It also reads a little like a thriller (although there’s no killer or chase involving a dangerous person), but there is a journey with one thing after another happening. The journey is packed with emotions and revelations rather than the violence and threats of physical harm that rule thrillers. The book is full of the internal feelings within families and a lot about its setting in the South.  

 

 

    

     2 out of 5 starsShattered Lies!         (Same review left on Goodreads and Reading Alley)

    By Kris Anderson - The Avid Reader on December 17, 2015

    Format: Kindle Edition

I just finished reading the book Shattered Lies by S.J. Francis. Katherine "Kate" Thayer is thirty years old, a veterinarian, and runs her grandmother’s farm, Magnolia Lane Farm in Thayerville, Mississippi. Kate was raised by her grandmother, Katherine after her parents passed away when she was a baby. Kate does not know much about her mother or her family. One day Kate goes into the attic and finds a journal written by her mother. This prompts her to start asking questions. Kate is going to uncover secrets that people have kept hidden her whole life. Everything is going to change. Secrets always have a way of coming out into the open (especially the ones you do not want to be known).

Shattered Lies sounded like such a good mystery novel. Unfortunately, it was more a novel about secrets, hatred, and bigotry. I started getting a little into the novel toward the end, but it was hard to read. There tends to be a lot of internal dialogue with the characters going on about whether they should or should not have kept the secrets and what should they do now (I think this makes up more than half the novel). The majority of the characters are really not likable (mostly because of their bigoted attitudes). All of the women seems to be strong, determined, and stubborn (there is nothing wrong with this). It is their way or the highway (you cannot always have your way in this world). I am amazed that no one was murdered in the novel. Several times I wanted to walk away from this book, but I persevered and finished it. There is a nice lesson about forgiveness and the ending is left so there can be a sequel (I will not be reading it). I give Shattered Lies 2.75 out of 5 stars.

I received a complimentary copy of Shattered Lies from NetGalley and Reading Alley in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

     4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful               (same review on Reading Alley)

     ByKaren Teague on December 17, 2015

     Format: Kindle Edition

     Review copy provided via Reading Alley in exchange for an honest review.

    Summary: Shattered Lies

She wants to know the truth, but some secrets might be better left alone… Kate Thayer has a good life as a veterinarian, running the family horse farm—until she uncovers an act of unimaginable treachery by those she trusted most and learns that everything she knew about herself was a lie. Her paternal grandmother, the woman who raised her, is behind a number of devastating secrets Kate is compelled to discover. But the deeper she digs, the more betrayal she finds, changing her life in ways she could have never foreseen.

Review:

From the very first page, you are sucked into this story and can’t walk away. Each of the characters comes alive, and you slowly learn which one’s to hate and which one’s to love. This book is an ARC, so there are some spots, which need work on, but over all this book has what it takes to be a number-one seller.

This is one of those books, which touches the heart, and opens our mind to the truths, which so many try to hide. The characters all feel so real you forget your reading a fiction story. The development of the story as a whole is complex, and you can tell the author did much research to make the story feel as real is it does. The flow is perfect; the style of writing is very clear, which helps to make the story feel so real.

In my review, I normally go into the grammatical and punctuation errors I find, but since this is an ARC, and I expected to find some, but didn’t. I did how ever come across a few area’s, which need some work to make they flow and connect with the readers more.

Page 20 PDF format "Kate had raised the female from a foal." Nobody who raises horses says female when referring to their horse it’s always mare. I run a small ranch where I own and board horses.

Page 46 PDF format "The foals were her fourth litter born to her in the last six years." Nobody in the horse world would say litter… Cats and Dogs as well as pigs have litters… to make this sentence flow and connect with the readers it should have read. "The foals were her fourth born to her in the last six years." Just take out the word litter. Also on this page the sentence, which reads, "He was their pride of the farm – a show horse champion…. In all my years around horses, I’ve never heard anyone say it that way so in my minds and in the minds of most people who are around horses it should read. "He is their pride of the farm – a Champion show horse."

Conclusion:

Would I recommend this book to others? YES

Would I read other works by this Author? YES

Is this book a Novel or Novella? Nice length Novel.

Is this book priced correctly? The e-book price is alright, but the paperback book price is on the high side in my eyes, as I’m a budget buyer and won’t spend that kind of money on a book unless it was a hardback.

 

 

     From bn.com  Overall Rating: 5 stars 3 Reviews

     http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/shattered-lies-s-j-francis/1122797656?ean=9781626943568   

 

    5 stars:

    I bought this book from my local B&N after learning about the author                   November 18, 2015 by annyce

    I bought this book from my local B&N after learning about the author on her blog tour for this book. In fact, I found myself following this author. I love this book! It may be labeled Women’s fiction, but it is so much more. I can attest to it because not only did I like it, but so did my husband and two teen age children, as did my mother. My son and daughter thought it was "so cool." I don’t want to give anything away, but my children are bi-racial and I wanted them to read this book because of that. My husband is white. I’m not.
Kudos to the author for bringing such light onto a touchy subject nowadays. S.J. Francis handled the matter of race and bigotry with candor, yet with a patience and deep understanding not many people have. I speak from personal experience when it comes to race and bigotry. I hope that everyone reads this book, young and old, men and women, black, white, Hispanic, whatever. It is a highly charged novel of deep emotions. I couldn’t believe how quickly I read this book. Something happens on every page. You won’t be disappointed with this purchase. I wasn’t. My mother gave it an A+ (she is a retired high school teacher) for the depiction of the characters and setting. She grew up in Alabama in the sixties and was very impressed by this author, and my mother isn’t a women to impress easily.

 

 

     5 stars by Anonymous        November 18, 2015

 

   

    From Booksamillion.com:  http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Shattered-Lies/S-J-Francis/9781626943568?id=6486935403994

   REVIEW SNAPSHOT®by PowerReviews S. J. Francis Shattered Lies

   5.0 (based on 1 review)

   Ratings Distribution 5 Stars (1)

   REVIEWS Reviewed by 1 customer 11/22/2015 

   This was an excellent read for me! Certainly a fast read.

   By Denny from New York, NY About Me Bookworm

   Pros                                                                              Cons    

   Broad Appeal                                                             None I can see.

   Deserves Multiple Readings

   Engaging Characters

   Original Plot

   Page Turner

   Suspenseful

  Well Written

  

   Best Uses

   African American

   Gift

   Multi-Cultural

   Older Readers

   Travel Reading

   Young adult reader

   Younger Readers

   Comments about S. J. Francis Shattered Lies:

   Is this what they call a sleeper read? An avid reader, I'm always on the lookout for new and interesting reads. I get bored quickly with the standard recycled storylines so abundant nowadays. I find the same pattern occurring in films. It's as if there is no longer any imagination or thought out there. Then, in browsing through new authors on a blog I happened upon, I can't even recall the name, I heard of this book, Shattered Lies. I never heard of this author before and I was hesitant about reading it, but curiosity won out. I agree with reviews by other reviewers, this is a book not to be missed. Every person should read it. It'll be an enlightening and educational experience. I never lived through the sixties or down south, but I learned a great deal about both here. I don't know about anyone else, but I feel as if I really visited with the Thayer family. What else can I say? I liked this book. I really did and I feel confident enough to share it with others. I liked it so much that I'm going to pass it onto my husband and friends and family. I think I may even give a few copies out as gifts for the holidays. I'm always at a loss as to what to buy.

   Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

 

 

     Goodreads Reviews:

     https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1417588645?book_show_action=true&from_review_page=1

 

    Kurt Springs's Reviews > Shattered Lies

    Shattered Lies by S.J. Francis 5 of 5 stars

    Kurt Springs's review Oct 21, 15

    Read from October 15 to 21, 2015

    Note: The ARC was given by the Author in exchange for a fair review   (WARNING SPOILERS)

    Synopsis:

   Kate Thayer has a good life. She runs the family farm for her Grandmother earns a living as a veterinarian. Then she stumbles upon several devastating lies told by the one person she’d thought cared about her the most, her own grandmother. Her whole view of those people she cared about changes overnight. She finds she has a twin sister who was sent away because she was black. This starts her on a quest to find that other part of herself: her twin sister Astrid.

     Katherine Thayer and Maddy Johnson are Kate’s grand were once best friends in a time when whites and blacks in the south could not be friends. Their friendship was destroyed by family pressures, and a series of lies they were both party to. Now they must come together to save one granddaughter and earn the forgiveness of another.

     Review: (WARNING Spoilers)

     Full disclosure: When I first agreed to review this, I assumed it was a mystery or thriller from the book’s blurb. This was my assumption and was not the fault of the author. While it does not fit the genre profile for Kurt’s Frontier, it was such an enjoyable book, I could not leave it unreviewed.

     Kate Thayer is an immediately likable protagonist whose whole world is turned upside down when she discovers her families' lies. She discovers she is actually half-black. Her father was white and her mother was black. Like Romeo and Juliette, it was a romance that neither side of the family approved of. They tried to break up the marriage. When Kate's mother became pregnant, they conspired to send the half breed child away when it is born and telling the woman that it was still born. The plan is carried out for Kate’s sister Astrid. It falls apart when Kate’s paternal grandmother, Katherine, sees and falls in love with Kate. The plan further goes awry when Kate’s mother bleeds to death resulting from the trauma of childbirth. Then her father kills himself, unable to live without the love of his life. The two families swear never to let Kate know the truth.

     Kate discovers the truth as an adult when she finds her mother’s diary. Angry and disappointed by the people she thought she could trust, she decides she needs to find her twin. She forces the location of Astrid from her family’s doctor, and sets off to find her.

While not the action adventure tales I usually enjoy, Shattered Lies proves to be two sisters quest for the truth, and two families quest for redemption.

 

     

     From Goodreads.com: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26837899-shattered-lies

    Theresa Raymer rated it 5 of 5 stars  · November 23, 2015

    

     I would like to thank Black Opal Books Publishing for giving me the ARC of this book for a honest review of the book.

 

     I found this book to be an awesome read. I would also recommend this book to anyone 18+ in age.

 

     Kate Thayer has a good life as a veterinarian and she runs her family's horse farm. With both her parents deceased she was raised by her paternal grandmother. Kate uncovers many family secrets which revolve around her life. The deeper she digs the deeper the secrets she finds that will turn her life in ways that she can not even imagine.

 

    

 

 

     

    

 

     

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Twitter Classic
  • Blogger App Icon

© 2015 by S. J. Francis                                                  Wix.com

      Visitors to my web site